Top 10 Tuesday

Topic: Top Ten Books Written In The Past 10 Years That I Hope Are Still Being Read In 30 Years

This is going to pretty tricky, as I am rubbish at noticing when books are published.

1. One Day by David Nicholls – I absolutely LOVED this when I read it about a year ago, and I spent forever boring friends and family with how fantastic I thought it was. I know there was an awful lot of hype surrounding this book, but I feel it is justly deserved…and no, I haven’t seen the film, and I don’t want to.

2. The Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne – A shockingly innocent portrayal of a truly harrowing and tragic 20th century event. This deserves its place as it would be awful if we forgot the true horrors of war.

3. The House at Riverton by Kate Morton – I love novels and poetry written during and based on the Edwardian period and the First World War, and this amazing read captures this period in a beautiful and gripping way. I wrote a letter to Kate Morton telling her how much I enjoyed it and she replied, which is always lovely.

4. Atonement by Ian McEwan – This novel just creeps in to the past 10 years, which I am incredibly glad about. It has been a while since I read this, but it is on my summer to read list and as my memory tells me it was a fantastic read and that I enjoyed it, I feel it should be added to my list.

5. The Other Boleyn Girl by Philippa Gregory – I love Philippa Gregory’s writing; she really brings history alive and draws you in to the particulars of various Royal dynasties. This was the first of Gregory’s novels I read, so I am placing it on my list as it opened my eyes to her writing which has brought me great pleasure during the past few years.

6. The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett – Not something I would normally choose to read, but it came highly recommended and was a great read.

7. Harry Potter by JK Rowling – Speaks for itself!

8. The History Boys by Alan Bennett – It isn’t often that Iread plays (bar Shakespeare) but I thoroughly enjoyed The History Boys and I wish I had seen it on stage with the same cast who starred in the film.

9. The Paddington Bear Treasury by Michael Bond – This might be cheating, since Paddington Bear is an old character, but I think every house should have a copy of his stories because he is amazing and just the cutest bear.

10. Wicked by Jilly Cooper – Because I love her and that is a good enough reason for me!

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Tuesday

Leave a Reply

