Top Ten Baddies!

It’s Tuesday and it is a freebie over at The Broke and The Bookish and I have decided to focus on my top 10 bad guys (and girls) from various works of fiction. Some of them are worse than others as is the way of baddies. They are not in any particualr order, more just an as I think of them.

1. Willoughby – Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen

Pictured here played by the gorgeous Dominic Cooper, Willoughby is charming, money hungry and essentially a bit of a cad (I love that word) He misleads poor Marianne and breaks her heart; the moment where he ignores her is heartwrenching!

2. Lady Catherine De Bourgh – Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Sticking on the Austen front, and because I am reading Pride and Prejudice at the moment, I have chosen the vile Lady Catherine De Bourgh. She has yet to make an appearance in my reading, bar the incessant wittering of Mr. Collins, but she is horrible, snobbish and incredibly rude to our lovely Elizabeth Bennett.

3. Bill Sykes – Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens

My first experience of Oliver Twist and Dickens, was the 1960s musical Oliver! I can remember watching it constantly, back to back with Annie which was on the same video (yes that’s retro!) Bill Sykes is plain evil, he has no compassion, feelings or respect for anyone else and deservedly gets his just desserts.

4. Mrs Pratchett – Boy by Roald Dahl
One of my favourite children’s books, and my favourite Dahl book, Mrs Pratchett, the horrid sweet shop owner, is a figure all small children can hate..

5. Alec D’Uberville – Tess of the D’Ubervilles by Thomas Hardy
Alec is wicked and a constant presence throughout Tess’s life. He mirrors the stain motif that appears throughout the novel, and for me is primary reason Tess struggles to find happiness.

6. Voldemort – Harry Potter by J.K.Rowling
I couldn’t really let Voldemort get away without a mention. For all the millions of people who have read the books, and watched the films, his appearance on this list should be self explanatory.

7. Rannaldini – Various Jilly Cooper novels
A pantomime-esque villain to boo and hiss at as I devour my favourite Jilly Cooper novels.

8. Rebecca – Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier
Sometimes villains and baddies lists can be overrun with male characters, so I had a little think about which fictional females I would add to the list, and Rebecca popped up. Perhaps she isn’t a conventional villain and there are other characters from the novel worthy of a place on the list, but the ending of this novel always shocks me, and I think she deserves to be here purely because of her final actions.

9. Lucy Audley – Lady Audley’s Secret by Mary Elizabeth Braddon
My BA dissertation focused on female criminals in Victorian literature, and Lucy Audley was one of the women I researched and discussed. She is scheming and treacherous, lying and plotting murder purely to better her position in society!

10. Count Fosco – The Woman In White by Wilkie Collins
Another Victorian criminal. I love Collins’ writing and the mystery and devious nature of Count Fosco makes fantastic reading!

One thought on “Top Ten Baddies!

Leave a Reply

