Top Ten Good Beach Reads

Firstly this topic is making me very sad that not only am I nowhere near the beach, especially not a beach like this…

but the weather in England is as typical and rainy as ever. Luckily there are some amusing sights to be seen to cheer one up when the weather gets too much, so yes the sky is grey and miserable, but there is always a giant haystack shaped like the Queen to bring a smile to one’s face!

I can dream about relaxing on a peaceful beach, so I hope and pray that this list wil inspire a sudden change in the weather.

For me the perfect beach read is easy, often trashy and doesn’t require much thinking, so don’t expect any literary classics to be making an appearance, although I might get to number ten and surprise myself.

1. Any Jilly Cooper…I love her and she definitly fulfills my three point beach criteria. Most of her novels are pretty long too, which I like in a beach read, because you don’t want to finish it in a day. I could essentially use up all my ten just naming her books, but I won’t bore people with that.

2. One Day by David Nicholls – I mentioned this novel in a previous ‘Top Ten’ posting, but it is perfect for the beach, romantic, original, funny, heartwarming; I can’t wait to read it again.

3. The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton – Another author who has made an appearance on one of my ‘Top Ten’ lists, but I have opted for her second book this time. I love how Morton mixes history with the present and how she uses this to create a gripping mystery. I have recommended her first two books to friends in the past, unfortunately I was not a fan of her third book, but hey ho!

4. Not Dead Enough by Peter James – Nothing beats a good crime novel, and Peter James is a recent discovery for me; shockingly an author recommended by my Mum, which is something that very rarely happens. James has created a series of novels set in Brighton, following the life of his detective Roy Grace. Like all good thrillers they are fast-paced, gripping and have short chapters, so are very difficult to put down.

5. Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier – Beautifully written and just perfect!

6. Any Gossip Girl Novel by Cecily Von Ziegesar – So I am going against my ‘I need long books on holiday’ by choosing this series, but I can vividly remember sitting under an exotic type of tree on a beach in Crete reading this when I was 14 and I have read and enjoyed the entire series on several occasions. I haven’t seen the TV show at all because I love the books and I have my own image of the characters in my head and hate ruining that.

7. Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie – Back to the crime novels and you can’t beat Christie.

8. Bridget Jones’ Diary by Helen Fielding – I LOVE Bridget Jones, she is such a funny character and an ideal beach companion.

9. The White Queen by Philippa Gregory – Gregory’s writing is so complusive and the perfect historical escape.

10. Harry Potter by J.K.Rowling – You can’t beat Harry Potter for a relaxing and exciting read.

I have noticed a slight pattern in my good beach reads, in that the majority of them form part of a series or have reappearing characters. I guess this means I like to escape with familiar characters who I know well, which has the advantage of knowing, and hopefully loving, the characters beforehand, meaning I don’t have to worry too much about who is who…I really like an easy read! Now if the weather could just sort itself out I will be a merry bean!

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Good Beach Reads

  1. I’m with you on the Potter books and Philippa Gregory. I might have to check out the works by Kate Morton. Thanks for the recommendations. Your observation about recurring characters for beach reads is an interesting one.

  2. Here is another line of thought. Murder in Mexico is my series of eleven mysteries set in and around the upscale expat colony of San Miguel de Allende. Artist Paul Zacher is drawn into crime investigation because ‘he might see things differently.’ Maybe it’s time for the rich humanity of Mexico to show through all the narco headlines! Ready for the real Mexico, beyond the phony news reports? Take a look at this suspenseful and often funny series, available in Print, Kindle, Nook, & Kobo. Start with ‘Twenty Centavos’ by trying a sample on my website.

    http://www.sanmiguelallendebooks.com/titles.html

Leave a Reply

