Top Ten To Be Read This Summer

It is Tuesday, I have finshed my teacher training and time at uni (half sob, half yay) and am looking forward to the summer, so what better time to have a thnk about what I definitly want to read this summer. I have decided to follow a ‘read three books I haven’t read before, read one book I have read’ system, not sure how long it will last, but I have good intentions.

1. David Copperfield by Charles Dickens – Dowloaded this on to the kindle awhile ago and I haven’t read any Dickens in ages.

2. Love In A Cold Climate by Nancy Mitford – I have read the novel that comes before this one and the one that comes afterwards, so I think it is about time I filled in the gaps.

3. The Lady of the Rivers by Philippa Gregory – I love a good bit of historical fiction, so the opportunity to dive back in to a Philippa Gregory novel will be welcomed.

4. Appasionata by Jilly Cooper – I have been working my way through Jilly Cooper’s Rutshire Chronicles throughout my PGCE year; I normally pick one up as an after placement treat, but now I have finished entirely it is time to enjoy another one.

5. The Shooting Part by Isabel Colegate – A review of this novel was what first inspired me to start book blogging and I have had my eye on it ever since.

6. Half of the Human Race by Anthony Quinn – I love novels set during the early years of the 20th century; whether they are contemporary to that period or written by modern authors they always have me enthralled.

7. Regeneration by Pat Barker – I have read The Ghost Road as part of my teaching work experience, hopefully another good read.

8. Decline and Fall by Evelyn Waugh – When I first read Brideshead Revisited I did not enjoy it and it is not a novel I have returned to, but I might one day. However I have read a few other novels by Waugh and I LOVE them, his humour and depiction of various characters in British society is fantastic.

9. Cat Among the Pigeons by Agatha Christie – We started watching this on telly recently but as is always the case we missed half so I have no idea who dunnit?

10. Wicked by Gregory Macguire – Another reread. I have seen and enjoyed the musical since, can’t wait to reread the book with this in mind.

Who knows if I will stick to this reading list, only time will tell!

2 thoughts on “Top Ten To Be Read This Summer

Leave a Reply

