Top Ten Characters That Remind Me…

of myself or those I know. It is Top Ten Tuesday over at The Broke and the Bookish and this week’s category is literary characters that remind you of yourself or those you know, which is harder than you might think, so if I get to ten it will be a miracle.

1. Bridget Jones – Bridget Jones’ Diary by Helen Fielding – Bridget reminds me of myself and quite a few of my friends. There are some factors that I don’t relate to, but on the other hand there are many times when I have said something/done something that is typically Bridget

2. Miss Marple – Agatha Christie – A mixture of my Mum and Grandma; the former who has always fancied herself as a detective and the latter who is just plain nosey

3. Linda – The Pursuit Of Love by Nancy Mitford – Linda reminds me of me and not just because we share the same name. When I was a lot younger I know I was selfish, cared more for animals than people and a bit of drama queen, and although I am nowhere near as bad as I was as a child, I am still a little bit like that. But as with all examples there are bits of her character and some of her actions that I know I do not relate to at all.

4. Hermione – Harry Potter series by J.K.Rowling – I have a university friend who definitely reminds me of Hermione, so much so that when I first met her I didn’t like her because she seemed like a know-it-all. Now she is one of my best friends and I love her to pieces.

5. Georgia Nicholson – Series by Louise Rennison – When I was a teenager I loved this series, as did some of my friends, and one particular friend is exactly like Georgia, we even use some of her phrases in conversation.

6. Elizabeth Bennet – Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – One Austen heroine had to turn up in this list, and I know it is a cliche to pick Lizzie, but I like to think I share some of her qualities and that I would be as brave as her in certain circumstances.

And that’s it! I can’t think of anymore, although I am sure inspiration will come to me.

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Characters That Remind Me…

Leave a Reply

