Weekly Wrap-Up

I am going to pinch an idea from Adam’s Bibliomania (sorry, but I really like this!) and start doing a weekly wrap-up. I want to keep in touch with my blog, so to speak, and I just know that come September when I will be finding my feet in my new job and attempting to get to grips with the vast differences between teacher training and being a full time teacher, I probably won’t be reading as much, or as quickly as usual, but I don’t want to neglect my blog. Hopefully I will be able to keep up with a weekly update; I am sure I will, and as I haven’t assigned a particular day this should be relatively easy (famous last words).

So this week the British weather has been glorious! I can’t quite believe it was only a week ago that it was pouring with rain, but for me that is the beauty of our weather, it is unpredictable. I have literally spent the entire week in my garden, which has provided me with lots of valuable reading time. Last weekend I finished Enid Blyton’s Five on a Treasure Island , which made me feel all nostalgic about growing up and the good, old-fashioned fun that a Blyton book always brings, even if you were born 50 years after their original publication!

I am currently reading Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina, which I am enjoying, although there are certain sections that I personally could do without, but I shall leave that for my blog post. I have nearly finished part 5 of 8, which speaks volumes in terms of the amount of time I have spent lazing around outside. I did take a small break from all this sunbathing to meet my friend in Bath for lunch. There is the most amazing independent bookshop tucked away behind Waterstone’s, that I cannot praise enough. I am pretty sure I read in a Bath Lit Festival Guide that it was voted the best independent bookshop in the country, which it certainly deserves. They have a fantastic range of books and really friendly, helpful staff, who recommended a whole host of books, so my to buy list is growing. I must find out the name of this shop!

I hope this weather continues (even though the weatherman says it won’t) as I am loving all this reading time and I have my next book lined up: Ben Macintyre’s Operation Mincemeat.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-Up

  1. I am so pleased you’ve liked my wrap-up idea enough to use it yourself! It certainly does help me stay blogging when reading time is scarce 🙂

    Let me know the name of this bookshop you mention – I hope to get to Bath sometime this summer and would love to visit it!

    1. The bookshop is called Mr B’s Emporium of Reading. They have a website with directions, but if you know Bath at all, it is tucked away behind Waterstone’s, down a very narrow street. Let me know how you get on when you visit. I can’t wait to go back when I have some money.

Leave a Reply

