July Wrap Up!

This is the first of my monthly wrap-ups; as with the weekly ones I am doing this in order to keep track of my reading primarily because life is going to get hectic come September and the beginning of my first term as a qualified teacher.

Luckily the British weather finally decided to sort itself out for some of July, so I was able to spend a lot of time reading in the garden soaking up the sunshine. Typically it has returned to our usual unpredictable summer just in time for the Olympics, but I am pretty merry watching the various sports and waving my ‘Team GB’ flag like a loon. As I type this a swimmer who trains at my old university has just won a silver medal, yay!

July Reading:

David Copperfield – Charles Dickens

Small Island – Andrea Levy

The Lady of the Rivers – Philippa Gregory

Five on a Treasure Island – Enid Blyton

And I have just finished Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina this evening. I know it is technically August, but I am adding this to the July reading, as it has occupied all my reading time for the last fortnight of the month. I am aiming to post about it by Friday.

August Plans:

Operation Mincemeat – Ben Macintyre – This is top of my list

The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas – John Boyne – This will be a re-read, but I am planning on teaching this in September, so I need to refresh my memory.

I am also planning on taking part in the Austen in August event, with Mansfield Park and Northanger Abbey (both rereads on my list) and Clare Tomalin’s biography on Austen.

Whether or not I’ll deviate from this list is a different matter, as I like spontaneity in my reading.

Leave a Reply

