A Fortnightly Update!

Life has been pretty crazy the past fortnight, I feel as though I have been here, there and everywhere, hence the reason I missed last week’s update. In terms of reading, I haven’t done a great deal, having finished Claire Tomalin’s amazing biography Jane Austen: A Life, I swiftly moved on to Jilly Cooper’s Appassionata, well I was on holiday. This is a reread (of course), but I am loving it!

And what have I been up to to slow down my reading time? Last Thursday Mum and I hopped on the train to London to see ‘Richard III’ at The Globe Theatre. This was my Mum’s first trip to The Globe, and I was keen for her to enjoy it as much as I do. It was also the first time I had ever been to London with just my Mum; I went as a child once or twice with the whole family, but all my recent trips have been to visit some of my closest friends, so it was lovely to spend some time with my Mum in the city. We walked along the river to and from the theatre, which is so much easier than getting the tube, and I was able to browse the fantastic second hand bookstall that lives under a bridge (I can’t remember what it is called). We sat on the top floor of the theatre, which was another first, and had a surprisingly good view of the stage. It was an interesting performance, and quite humourous, which I wasn’t expecting. I found this quite refreshing and it certainly made the performance more engaging and easier to understand, which as Mum said is good for those who don’t really know the storyline. I look forward to next season at The Globe!

I then moseyed off for a long weekend at Center Parcs with some of my family. It has become a bit of a tradition, this being the 16th year in a row we have visited, but there is so much to see and do there that it never gets boring. I had a lovely relaxing weekend, and luckily the weather was fantastic, so I was able to sit on the beach and on the green reading my books and enjoying the beautiful surroundings. I made a return visit to Longleat yesterday, as my sister and I went to the safari park. This has recently been updated and was so much fun, especially for someone who has a slight obsession with safaris and seeing wild animals. I am not a huge fan of zoos, but I think Longleat does an incredible job of providing lots of space and interesting and exciting activities for the animals.

The countdown has begun for the start of school…less than a fortnight to go, eek! I went in to begin sorting out my classroom today, which is going to take longer than expected as there are still a lot of books, resources etc. from the previous teacher; I helpfully shoved it all in a HUGE cupboard and a filing cabinet…out of sight, out of mind! Now if I could just get the 9 million drawing pins out of my walls I will be a happy bunny!

One thought on “A Fortnightly Update!

  1. I’m glad you had a lovely time, I love Longleat too! Haven’t been in a while though so haven’t seen the updates, I think that’s a good excuse to go again as soon as possible 🙂

Leave a Reply

