A Wrapped Up August!

Once again I am going to cheat slightly and include my weekly wrap up inside my August summary as school starts in two days, so time is precious.

August has been a crazy month considering I was on summer holiday and only really had lesson planning to do, which I could complete at my own slow and steady pace. I started the month on a quest to find my perfect bookcase and I am pleased to say I am still over the moon with my purchase, despite the fact it only holds about a fifth of my books. But it is beautiful and fits in to the space, so I can’t complain too much.

This was shortly followed by the moving of all my furniture to my new house. Sadly I couldn’t move in until the end of the month, so I have spent a fortnight sleeping on patio furniture in my old bedroom, but it made me appreciate just how much I love bed, and I am sure there is someone out there screaming ‘it’s character building,’ which I can almost agree with. I moved in for good on August 28th, and I am beginning to adjust to life away from my family again. I spent four years lving away for university, so I am not a complete stranger to being independent, but it is hard to go from being around your family to being 40 miles away. And pets are a no-no in my new house, so not only am I missing my dog Coco, but I have had to leave behind Ramos the hamster.

I had a fabulous time in London on my trip to The Globe and thoroughly enjoyed Richard III, I cannot wait to see what plays will be on next season. I spent rather a long time at Longleat, not only on a weekend break to Center Parcs, but also on a day trip to the Safari Park. Both are places I have been to many times, in fact this was the 16th year in a row for a holiday to Center Parcs, but it never gets boring. There is so much to do and both attractions have gone through changes in recent years, so I would whole heartedly recommend a trip to everyone who lives near by!

I did get a chance to do some reading this month, in fact I was a little surprised at the amount of books listed.

August Reading

Operation Mincemeat by Ben Macintyre


The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas
by John Boyne

Jane Austen: A Life by Claire Tomalin

Appassionata by Jilly Cooper

Agatha Raisin and The Quiche of Death by M.C.Beaton

Overall a good month for reading. I enjoyed all of my reads, but I think my stand out favourite would have to be Claire Tomalin’s amazing biography of Jane Austen. I cannot stress how brilliant this biography is, and I personally cannot wait to read more of Tomalin’s work.

In terms of September reading…I don’t have a clue! I am working my way through the four Agatha Raisin novels I have on my Kindle and that is as far ahead as I am planning, choosing instead to wait until school has started and I can assess how busy the month will be. Hopefully it won’t be so busy I can’t enjoy some valuable reading time.

Good luck to all who are returning to school, college, uni or who are using the change of season and the start of the academic year for their own fresh start; as far as I’m concerned Septemeber will always be a month for new beginnings and I am eagerly anticipating the challenges it will bring!

P.S. I’m having issues with italics and non italics so apologies if this post looks mismatched!

3 thoughts on “A Wrapped Up August!

Leave a Reply

