Sense and Sensibility (1995)

20130123-185006.jpg

Sense and Sensibility is my favourite Jane Austen. It is the first Austen I read (and a re-read is long overdue) and that means it always has a special place in my heart, and despite reading Pride and Prejudice far more often, this is still my favourite. I love the relationship between Elinor and Marianne and how they come to depend on one another as they have to downgrade home and cope with the various trials and tribulations of love in an Austen novel.

It has been some time since I watched this 1995 adaptation of Sense and Sensibility. It stars many well known Brits, from Emma Thompson and Kate Winslet to Alan Rickman and Hugh Laurie, and I do love a good British film; maybe I’m being slightly bias as a Brit, but I love seeing the beautiful houses and stunning British countryside. For me the actors and their characters are fantastic and whilst watching I became totally immersed in the world of the Dashwoods, I wasn’t sat there questioning why X had been chosen for such a role. This adaptation captures enough of the novel and the magic without cutting too much and without feeling as though it drags on and on and on. I especially like this version because for several years I worked at one of the houses used in the film; the fantastic Montacute House in Somerset which is the home of Mr Palmer (Hugh Laurie).

20130123-185055.jpg

One of the best parts of the film for me is when Elinor (Emma Thompson) realises that her love interest is not married to someone else. I like this scene not only because of Elinor’s reaction, but because it plays a role in a great episode of The Vicar of Dibley when Dawn French’s character is proposed to. Throughout modern culture there are always so many links to Colin Firth as Mr Darcy (the Pride and Prejudice version, not Bridget Jones’ Diary), so it is great to see how other Austen adaptations are having an impact on society.

Somewhere I have the DVD copy, but just in case I have saved it to the digibox for the next time I need a good Austen fix.

The Vicar of Dibley Clip

4 thoughts on “Sense and Sensibility (1995)

  1. I adore this film! I rewatched it not long ago when it was shown on the telly again, which has reminded me I would really like to get a dvd copy of it. Like you Sense and Sensibility is my favourite Jane Austen that I have read to date. I still have Northanger Abbey and Mansfield Park to go so we will see if it keeps it’s top spot 🙂

Leave a Reply

