The Classics Club One Year Round Up

A year ago today I joined The Classics Club with the aim of reading 50 books in 5 years. So far I have read 9 from my list, so a little behind schedule. I’ll have to make up for it and read 11 this year.

So far I have read:

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
Villette by Charlotte Bronte
David Copperfield by Charles Dickens
The Major of Casterbridge by Thomas Hardy
1984 by George Orwell
To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee
The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton

I am going to pinch an idea from Jessica at The Bookworm Chronicles and just highlight a few key points of my reading.

Most Anticipated:

Anna Karenina

Most Beautifully Written:

The Mayor of Casterbridge

Most Disappointing:

The Age of Innocence

Most Surprising (In A Good Way!):

The Hobbit

Most Memorable Character/s:

Elizabeth Bennett in Pride and Prejudice
Atticus Finch in To Kill A Mockingbird

Most Recommended-to-Others:

The Hobbit
The Mayor of Casterbridge

Favourite New Authors Discovered:

George Orwell

Ambitions for 2013/2014:

To read at least 11 books from my list. I have bought The Connells Guide to both Great Expectations and Tess of the D’Ubervilles, so I think they will be top of my list. I look forward to another Classics Club spin as I like the idea of someone else choosing my books.

But for now I am back to the third installment of The Hunger Games. Happy Easter to all!

5 thoughts on “The Classics Club One Year Round Up

    1. That is strange, we must be subconsciously influencing one another through our blogs. Thank you, although Easter and visiting the family haven’t left me with much reading time. Happy Easter to you too!

  1. Well done Lindy you’ve made a great start to your list. I’m so pleased you enjoyed The Hobbit and would now recommend it to others. It is one of my favourite books of all time 🙂 Good luck for the next year.

  2. I’m so far behind on blog reading! This is a great post and I hope you don’t mind if I borrow the format for my Classics Club first year round-up. Elizabeth Bennett is one of my favorite characters ever 🙂

Leave a Reply

