March Round Up

20130403-171107.jpg

And so March draws to a close and Spring is supposed to be blossoming in the UK. Whilst most of the country seems to be battling a late flurry of snow storms, my corner of Wiltshire seems to have escaped unscathed; a blessing because no one wants a snow day in the Easter holidays. So although the weather is beginning to resemble Spring, the temperature certainly isn’t, luckily someone bought me some beautiful tulips to keep me hopeful that soon the sun will be out in all it’s glory.

Back to the reading and I am pleased to see I actually read quite a bit this month, including my selected book for The Classics Club Spin.

Thank You, Jeeves by P.G.Wodehouse

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Villette by Charlotte Bronte

A Greyhound of a Girl by Roddy Doyle

Wonder by R.J.
Palacio

The majority of my reading this month has centred on fiction for young adults, mainly because I am running an enrichment at school based on the Carnegie Medal Awards; I am also deep in The Hunger Games madness, so much so I am reading the final installment at the moment. I think this has helped boost up the amount of books I read this month, especially as I spent a large portion of the month focusing on Villette, which means one more ticked off my Classics Club list.

March also saw two key blogging events: my one year anniversary for both my blog as a whole and for my Classics Club list. I cannot quite believe I have been blogging for a whole year and kept it up, and most importantly that I am still enjoying this. So as a Happy Birthday to me (and a well done for dedicating a whole weekend to marking and no TV/Facebook) I bought myself a little present.

20130403-173510.jpg

I am a tiny bit addicted to these Connells Guides since reading about them on a different blog and purchasing the one for To Kill A Mockingbird, so guides to Great Expectations and Tess of the D’Ubervilles are welcome additions and will be great companions to my rereads of these novels. I also bought the latest film version of Jane Eyre, well at Ā£3 I could hardly resist, but in true fashion I doubt I will get round to watching it for a good few months…reading is much higher on my list of priorities.

2 thoughts on “March Round Up

  1. I’m happy to hear someone in the UK escaped the snow, sadly we didn’t here šŸ˜¦ Those are beautiful flowers and I love the jug they’re in too. Happy reading in April šŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, although I can’t take the credit as it belongs to my flatmate. I am glad we missed the snow as I’m on Easter holidays and only want a snow day when I am supposed to be at work!

Leave a Reply

