April Round Up

20130502-210459.jpg

As May begins it is once again time to reflect on the past month’s reading and to be honest I’m a little disappointed in the amount I read, or should I say the little I read in April. Must do better this month!

I began the month continuing on my journey through YA fiction and finished The Hunger Games trilogy and read two more books from the Carnegie Shortlist before rereading a favourite modern novel. And that was it; four books; four and a half if you include my current read.

April Reading

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

In Darkness by Nick Lake

Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner

One Day by David Nicholls

On the plus side I did watch two films for my Period Drama Challenge in April and as I have already said, I am rubbish at watching films.

Jane Eyre (2011)

Little Women (1994)

Really I’m quite pleased with that achievement at least.

I took part in World Book Night again this year and gave away copies of Victoria Hislop’s The Island. I had 18 copies to give away so I sent an email out at school to see if anyone would be interested and you would not believe how quickly the replies came flooding in; I felt like a book giving fairy/elf! We are organising reading it at the same time so that we can have a mini book club meeting to discuss it, which is exciting.

Technically this is May news, but I ordered a beautiful new Persephone Book at the weekend and it arrived today.

20130502-211723.jpg

And it has the most fabulous endpapers and bookmark

20130502-211809.jpg

So I am a very happy bean and now I am going to work on improving the book reading for May.

3 thoughts on “April Round Up

  1. I wouldn’t stress about the amount of books you’ve read. Four books is a perfectly decent amount last year that my average amount per month. As long as you enjoyed them and/or discovered new things that’s all that matters. Happy reading in May 🙂

Leave a Reply

