May Round Up

As June begins I have spent my day in the sunshine attempting to tan; sadly I didn’t get a chance to do much reading, it was more gossiping with friends. But I have made a start on my new Classics Club Spin The Old Curiosity Shop by Charles Dickens, so all is not lost reading wise. May has been a difficult month work wise due to GCSEs and this being the first time I have put a class through the exams. It has been stressful and trying at times, but as of Tuesday I will be free of it and able to relax/breathe a sigh of relief. I am also very aware of the fact that I am moving into my final term as a NQT, so all of this plus the sunshine is making me a very excited girl. A half term trip to London to catch up with an old friend has also put me in a holiday mood; she mentioned a girls’ holiday for the summer (and bless her she is a tad flighty) so I am going to pin her down soon and organise a trip. I think we both deserve it!

On to the reading (and film watching) for May. This was a better month for me than April in terms of reading and I am pleased with all that I have read and the variety between adult books and those aimed at teenagers.

In May I read:

The Lifeboat by Charlotte Rogan

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

A Boy and a Bear in a Boat by Dave Shelton

Melting the Snow in Hester Street by Daisy Waugh (review yet to appear as it was a guest review/read for another blog)

The Island by Victoria Hislop

I read two books for my Carnegie Medal enrichment: Code Name Verity and A Boy and a Bear in a Boat. Code Name Verity was by far my favourite out of the two and I would choose that as my overall Carnegie winner so far.

My favourite read for the month on May was undoubtably The Island. It was amazing and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

I also watched the fourth film for my Period Drama Challenge, The Great Gatsby. I wasn’t completely convinced by the film version, but I was certainly glad I went to see it.

Yes, on the whole it was an enjoyable May and I am certainly looking forward to the fictional wonders June brings!

2 thoughts on “May Round Up

  1. Interesting selection of reads. I too went to see The Great Gatsby. I really enjoyed the style of it. I think they softened the characters though because I didn’t loathe them half as much as I did reading the book 😉 Happy reading in June!

Leave a Reply

