The Classics Club June Meme

I don’t often have the time to complete many of the memes hosted by The Classics Club, however I decided to complete the June one as I think it is quite interesting.

The question for this month centres on favourite opening lines and I have chosen two that I knew long before I read either book.

20130605-194135.jpg

The first is from Daphne Du Maurier’s Rebecca and is a line I have seen quoted by many so far.

‘Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again’.

It is straight to the point and yet it still offers a sense of mystery from the very beginning.

The second line is from L.P.Hartley’s The Go Between.

The past is a foreign country; they do things differently there.’

What a perfect, mysterious, nostalgia-filled opening! Like the opening line of Rebecca it offers a sense of intrigue, however it also alludes to feelings of regret which reinforces the main theme of the novel.

I wonder if I will discover some more opening lines that will push me into picking up the novel!

3 thoughts on “The Classics Club June Meme

Leave a Reply

