June Round Up

20130702-165850.jpg

And so June has drawn to a close and we are already half way through the year, what a scary thought! I am also crazily close to finishing my first full year of teaching and with a fantastic lesson observation and my completed NQT Form sent off I guess I can now say that I am officially a proper teacher (although I suppose I was doing that before this point, but I know what I mean). I am very much looking forward to the summer holidays, but am slightly daunted with how much I need to fit in before the end of term, but such is life.

On to reading. I read four books in June; two for the Carnegie Medal Award; one for The Classics Club Spin and one other.

The Weight of Water by Sarah Crossan

Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick

The Old Curiosity Shop by Charles Dickens

How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff

June saw the announcement of the winner of the Carnegie Medal Award and a lot of my recent reading has been based on the Shortlist due to running an enrichment based on it at school. The great thing about completing the books was that, even though only a handful of use had read all eight books, we were able to vote on our favourite and decide a winner before the actual winner was announced. The students voted Wonder as the winner, with Midwinterblood in second place. So imagine our surprise when we found out the actual winner: Maggot Moon. None of us were very impressed and I had some outraged students on my hands, threatening to write letters and all sorts. Whilst I wasn’t too thrilled about the winner either, I was pleased with the response of the students and the passion they showed about reading and discussing the books.

I did get to read one ‘adult’ book this month in the form of Dickens’ The Old Curiosity Shop and whilst it wasn’t my favourite Dickens it was a fairly enjoyable read. Reading this meant another book crossed off my Classics Club List and I am now 1/5 of the way through my list. I did do some adapting and changing as there are a few books I truly know I will never get round to. My updated list is here.

Overall a fairly good reading month. Sadly I haven’t read much that has really stood out for me, but I am looking forward to the summer and tackling some of the larger books on my bookshelves.

4 thoughts on “June Round Up

  1. Well done on your teaching. It is lovely to hear that the students got so passionate about the books they had been reading. Good luck with the end of term, and happy reading in July 🙂

    1. Thank you! I have my eye on some hefty books so hopefully I’ll get through one or two. I am off to Devon for a week which should provide lots of reading time fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

