Six!

20130707-144452.jpg

I am going to join the hype and play along with Jo at The Book Jotter‘s Six Meme. The idea is to choose categories and include six books, authors in that category to share with others; mainly because we have just passed the halfway point of 2013 and because who doesn’t love a good book related list!

Six Books I have Enjoyed the Most

The Island by Victoria Hislop

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

Life of Pi by Yann Martel

Someone at a Distance by Dorothy Whipple

One Day by Dave Nicholls

The Shooting Party by Isabel Colegate

Six Authors I have Read Before

Private Peaceful by Michael Morpurgo

The Old Curiosity Shop by Charles Dickens

Villette by Charlotte Bronte

Thank You, Jeeves by P.G.Wodehouse

Five Go Adventuring Again by Enid Blyton

One Day by Dave Nicholls

Only One Day was a reread, as I have read various works by the other five authors, but never those listed.

Six Books I Want to Read This Summer

Game of Thrones by George R.R.Martin

The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Rings by J.R.R.Tolkien

Score by Jilly Cooper (Reread)

Patience by John Coates

Great Expectations by Charles Dickens (Reread)

Tess of the D’Ubervilles by Thomas Hardy (Reread)

There are mixture of new books and rereads on this list which I am happy about as I have done barely any rereading of favourite books this year. I think I am most looking forward to Game of Thrones having loved the TV show.

Six New Authors to Try

Barbara Pym – I have been hearing a lot about her recently and since some of her books come recommended by Jilly Cooper (whom I LOVE) I would be a fool to miss out.

George R.R.Martin – I need to continue on my Game of Thrones obsession and I am only a little sad I watched the TV show before having read the books.

Georgette Heyer – I was listening to ‘A Good Read’ on the radio recently and Heyer was one of the recommended authors. Again she is a name I have been familiar with for some years now, yet have never read. Luckily I picked up my first Heyer in a charity shop yesterday so I am sure we shall be aquatinted soon.

Kate Atkinson – Again another author I have discovered through blogging, this time thanks to Dovegreyreader.

Marghanita Laski – Having recently bought one of her books from Persephone I am looking forward to reading her work.

Mark Black – Jessica at The Bookworm Chronicles always seems to be reading such amazing history non-fiction and makes me want to read some of Black’s work, hopefully I’ll get round to it this summer.

So with that it is back to my book and the tennis I go!

One thought on “Six!

  1. I hope I get to LOTR too 🙂 also can’t wait to hear what you think about Game of Thrones as a book – I’ve promised myself not to watch the show until I’ve read the books although that looks like at least a year away! :O

Leave a Reply

