January Round Up

20140202-084508.jpg

January has drawn to a close and as I sit here on this bright and sunny February morning, I can almost see the change from winter into spring. I’ve bought tulips to brighten up the flat and it might be my imagination but I even think it is beginning to get lighter in the evenings. Unfortunately, I might be getting a tad optimistic as more torrential rain and high winds are forecast for Britain and I don’t have to drive back to Somerset to see the impact the flooding has had on the countryside. Yes, it has certainly been a strange month, but then I’m British, we like to talk about the weather!

I’ve had a fairly good start to the year in terms of reading, having read five books. I have only posted about three of them, but more about the other two later.

Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D.H. Lawrence. Reading this ticked off a book on both my Classics Club List and my TBR Pile 2014.

Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Rings by J.R.R.Tolkien. Again another read for both my Classics Club List and my TBR Pile 2014, although it is technically the reserve on the latter list.

The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Chrisite. The first Poirot novel has certainly started off another year of various Chrisite related activities well.

I also read two books from the History in an Hour series; one on Queen Victoria and one on the Titanic. I was inspired to begin with this series after reading various reviews by Jessica at The Bookworm Chronicles. I will blog about them eventually, maybe when I have read a few more.

Perhaps my favourite reading related activity of the month is one where I don’t read anything and I don’t even choose what’s being read. I have begun taking a small group of students from school to a local care home to read to the residents. I know it is an incredible cliche to say this, but not only is it rewarding, but it is also so much fun. Yes sometimes the ladies don’t listen to the reading, or fall asleep, but spending time with them and enjoying a chat over tea and cake is a great way to spend an hour a week and I always leave feeling very happy. I think it is going to become one of my favourite school based activities.

One thought on “January Round Up

  1. I’m pleased to see you’ve read a couple of the short histories neither of which I think I’ve read from the series so I look forward to hearing your thoughts as I have both downloaded on my kindle šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

