Spin Number Six

20140505-182016.jpg

I was wondering other the weekend when the next Classics Club Spin would be and then I log on this morning to find my question answered. This is the sixth spin, but in case you aren’t familiar with the rules: choose 20 books from your list, wait until Monday 12th May and whichever number is chosen you need to aim to read that book by the end of June. I have had varied experience of the spin in the past, completing some long and challenging books, but then I have failed to finish much shorter ones. I had a good spin last time, completing Howards End just after the finishing date, but that is good enough for me. The aim is to challenge yourself with your list and group the books, but as I am still in school mode I am just going to have a random list and ignore some of the longer books for the time being.

1. Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen

2. Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie

3. The Beautiful and the Damned – F.Scott Fitzgerald

4. Northanger Abbey – Jane Austen

5. Lady Audley’s Secret – Mary Elizabeth Braddon

6. The 39 Steps – John Buchan

7. The Moonstone – Wilkie Collins

8. Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers – J.R.R. Tolkien

9. The Hound of the Baskervilles – Arthur Conan Doyle

10. Far From the Madding Crowd- Thomas Hardy

11. Great Expectations – Charles Dickens

12, The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald

13. Persuasion – Jane Austen

14. A Room with a View – E.M. Forster

15. North and South – Elizabeth Gaskell

16. Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte

17. Oliver Twist – Charles Dickens

18. Women in Love – D.H. Lawrence

19. The English Patient – Michael Ondaatje

20. Emma – Jane Austen

I’m not sure what number I’m most looking forward to, but obviously a book I already own is a bonus.

Happy Spinning!

9 thoughts on “Spin Number Six

    1. Thank you! I’m not sure which number I want it to be. My uncle has lent me Hardy’s The Woodlanders too and I’m gutted that isn’t on original list as that would have been the one I was hoping for.

  1. That’s a great list! I would be hoping for Jane Eyre, The Moonstone or Lady Audley’s Secret because I loved all three of those. Good luck on Monday.

    1. Thank you! I have read all of them before as I have a fair few rereads on my list, but it has been some years so would be great to revisit one of them.

  2. If no. 15 spins up we will share North and South.
    One of my colleagues read it recently and has been raving about it since, wanting to know if I’ve read it yet.

    Fingers crossed!

    I will post my list in the next day or so – good luck 🙂

    1. That might be the first time I’ve shared a number with someone and it would certainly be interesting to see if we have similar views on it. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

