TBR Pile Check In

20140515-165630.jpg

I can’t remember if I started off writing monthly check in posts or if I dreamt it, but it decided that now we are in May and I am currently reading one of the books on the list I might as well write a little check in post. My original list is here.

I am pleased with my progress so far on this challenge and I am somewhat amazed I have been able to stick to my roughly a book a month quota in order to achieve my goal. My current completion list looks like this:

The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien

Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D.H.Lawrence

Patience by John Coates

Regeneration by Pat Barker

World Without End by Ken Follett

I have started on book six this month: The Six Wives of Henry VIII by Antonia Fraser. This is the book I am most worried about as it is non fiction and is about a part of history I don’t usually discover through non fiction, choosing instead the novels of Phillippa Gregory or TV programmes such as The Tudors. Instead of reading the whole book in one go, I am planning to do a wife at a time and read something else in between each wife. I am hoping this encourages me to stick with it until the end and although I have only read Catherine of Aragon so far I am enjoying it. I find I have to alter my reading habits for non fiction and dedicate time to just sitting and reading as it is hard to pick the book and up, read a page and put it down again.

Overall I am enjoying this challenge and I am glad that I don’t feel pressurised into completing a certain book by a certain date and that although I have a list I still have a choice. I’m already thinking of books for next year’s list! >

Leave a Reply

