May Round Up

20140601-183549.jpg

And so May is over! I’m pretty sure I should be making doubly sure I am ready to return to school tomorrow, but I’m just too tired; perhaps not the best feeling after a week off, but I have just blitzed the flat and had an incredibly manic half term. Now I think about it, May has lasted forever, with five weekends squeezed into one month and each weekend has been busy. From village fairs to 50th birthday parties, from hen party spa days to the actual wedding, May has certainly been busy. As always school added to the chaos with exams and revision sessions, but luckily they have completed their exams for English so I can breathe a sigh of relief.

The past week has been full of highs and lows in terms of my personal life and although I don’t want to even think about the low I am more than happy to remember the highs. My older brother got married on Friday which was amazing. Both my sister and I read in church and in typical big bro fashion he only asked us to do this last Monday; he really is too laid back for his own good. Luckily the weather on the day was lovely and it was just a beautiful day. Might have had a little cry once or twice, but what do you expect. So yes, we danced lots, ate lots, drank lots and laughed lots. And the best bit is I got to wear a big arse hat. I LOVE a good hat!

This month has been fairly good for reading too, even though I have been all over the West Country, or so it seems. In May I read:

The Exiles Return by Elisabeth du Waal

My Cousin Rachel by Daphne du Maurier

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

All three books count towards my Reading the Twentieth Century challenge and My Cousin Rachel also counts towards my TBR Pile 2014 challenge, so on the whole I am doing pretty well.

I am currently reading my Classics Club Spin read which is Jane Austen’s Sense and Sensibility

2 thoughts on “May Round Up

  1. I hope you’re enjoying Sense and Sensibility. After you finish, you might like to read The Three Weissmanns of Westport by Cathleen Schine. I’m not usually a fan of modern retellings, but thought this one was very well done!

    1. I will have to check it out. I am enjoying Sense and Sensibility so far, but I haven’t had a chance to fully immerse myself in it yet, so hopefully one evening soon.

Leave a Reply

