Reading the Twentieth Century – 10% Update

20140713-103729.jpg
Image borrowed from Stuck in a Book who did this challenge a few years ago.

A few months ago I decided to embark on another reading challenge. I always feel I am rubbish at reading challenges, going in all gun hoe and then fading out after a few months. However I chose to work on this Reading the Twentieth Century Challenge as really it doesn’t require anything from me but to read. I guess it might get a little tricky when it is nearing completion and finding books to suit the years I need, but at the moment it is going well and here I am at the 10% mark. One of the things I’m most intrigued by is which decade I will finish first. I have a feeling the 1970s/1980s might be the hardest, but I will have to wait and see.

At the 10% mark I have read:

One book from the 1910s (Howards End)
Two books from the 1920s (The Murder on the Links and Journey’s End)
One book from the 1940s (Love in a Cold Climate)
Two books from the 1950s (My Cousin Rachel and The Exiles Return)
One book from the 1980s (Black Venus)
Three books from the 1990s (Regeneration, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone and A Storm of Swords)

I am surprised that the 1990s is the decade with the most reading so far, maybe this will continue or another decade might sneak in. It is difficult to choose my favourite book from the list above as I enjoyed them all in different ways. I think Journey’s End is up there as I wasn’t expecting it to be as good as it was and I am looking forward to teaching it next year. I also loved A Storm of Swords as I love George R. R. Martin’s writing and his characters are memorable. If I had to choose my least favourite it would be Black Venus as I rarely read short stories and some of the ones in this collection just weren’t really my type of story.

I am still undecided if I am only going to allow each author to make only one appearance on my list. This might make the reading challenge longer, as I have lots of Agatha Christie on my summer reading list, but it will hopefully mean I discover many new authors. The beauty of this challenge is that I don’t have a definitive list of books to read, I just pick up what I want, when I want and if it fits in to the challenge then fantastic. With that in mind, I look forward to what surprises the next 10% brings. ;

6 thoughts on “Reading the Twentieth Century – 10% Update

  1. This is a great challenge! Especially as there is no pressure from a reading list, so if a particular book doesn’t work it’s okay – no pressure to finish. I’ve read a few of the books you’re read so far, Storm of Swords and Harry Potter, and there are also a few I think I’ll be adding to my to-read list.

Leave a Reply

