TBR Pile Update

20140712-200905.jpg

Hopefully this works as I am writing this on Saturday with the intention for the post to miraculously appear on my blog on the 15th. I have come back home to Dorset to chill out for the weekend and collect a suitcase as in the small hours of Monday morning I am off to Disneyland on a school trip! On the ridiculous coach trip there I am hoping to begin another book from my TBR Pile, but on the whole this reading challenge is going pretty well.

I have currently read seven books from my list; this does include my extra book incase I decided against one of the original twelve. So far this year I have read:

Patience by John Coates
Regeneration by Pat Barker
The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring by J. R. R. Tolkien
Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D. H. Lawrence
World Without End by Ken Follett
Love in a Cold Climate by Nancy Mitford
My Cousin Rachel by Daphne du Maurier

Alongside by fictional reading I have been mixing it up with some non-fiction and slowly reading The Six Wives of Henry VIII. This is the book I saw as my weak point of the original TBR list, mainly because I was worried about the length of such an intense non-fiction read, however I have really enjoyed it so far and find Antonia Fraser’s writing engaging. I think it was a good idea to alternate the reading of this book, focusing on one wife at a time and then reading something else in between as it means I wasn’t focusing so much on this one book.

Overall I have enjoyed every book I have read so far and as I don’t feel pressure to meet any looming deadlines I am pretty relaxed about this reading challenge and glad I decided to join.
>

Leave a Reply

