Classics Club Spin #7

20140805-142006.jpg

After seven spins, I think we all know the rules to The Classics Club Spins by now, but just in case. You pick 20 books from your list and write a post before Monday 11th August, when a number will be announced and you need to read that book before the end of September. I am feeling pretty optimistic about my reading at the moment, so of course I am getting involved and i look forward to seeing what number comes up.

Pre 1900
1. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall – Anne Bronte
2. Persuasion – Jane Austen
3. Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte
4. Emma – Jane Austen
5. Lady Audley’s Secret – Mary Elizabeth Braddon
6. The Moonstone – Wilkie Collins
7. Oliver Twist – Charles Dickens
8. North and South – Elizabeth Gaskell
9. Far From the Madding Crowd – Thomas Hardy
10. The Woman in White – Wilke Collins
11. Great Expectations – Charles Dickens
12. Northanger Abbey – Jane Austen

Post 1900
13. Lord of the Rings:The Two Towers – J.R.R.Tolkien
14. The 39 Steps – John Buchan
15. The English Patient – Michael Ondaatje
16. Women in Love – D.H.Lawrence
17. The Hound of the Baskervilles – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
18. The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald
19. Midnight’s Children Salmon Rushdie
20. The Beautiful and the Damned – F. Scott Fitzgerald

Until Monday…when I will be in the heart of Devon and fully engrossed in Agatha Christie. >

18 thoughts on “Classics Club Spin #7

  1. Your pre-1900 books are all favourites of mine. The Lord of the Rings is a favourite too and The 39 Steps was a suspenseful read. I just finished reading Fitzgerald’s Tender is the Night, which completely put me off his works but I did enjoy The Great Gatsby.

    Hope you have a great Spin!

    1. Thank you, I’m not sure which book I’m hoping for so I look forward to Monday. I tried to read Tender is the Night a few years ago and didn’t like it so hopefully The Beautiful and the Damned is better, Gatsby will be a reread.

      1. I missed out on a No Name read-along last winter. I’d like to read that one, and The Law and the Lady by Collins as well. Have you read either of those?

      2. No I haven’t. I looked into Armadale for my dissertation but didn’t use it in the end. A lot of the books on the list are rereads so maybe I should have added a few more new ones

  2. What a great list! I’ve read all of your pre-1900 books apart from Oliver Twist and enjoyed all of them. I hope you get something you’re happy with on Monday.

  3. We will share Anne Bronte this spin if #1 comes up.
    However you have so many great titles on your list, you’ll be happy with whatever spins up 🙂

  4. I’ve read and loved most of your pre-1900s list (the exception is Great Expectations, which I probably would have liked if it hadn’t been assigned reading for school). Reading Gatsby at the moment and I can’t figure out if I love it or hate it–but either way it’s completely brilliant. I think you’ll have a good result whatever number comes up, this is a great list!

Leave a Reply

