August Round Up

IMG_1571.JPG

The last day of August also brings the last day of freedom for the year as tomorrow morning I am back to school. I think this is a good thing as I am getting a bit bored and restless at home all the time and I need something to stop me from spending money like it is going out of fashion. As I finish off the last few jobs to ensure I am ready for the return to chaos, I thought it would also be a good idea to write my monthly round up post- it is the end of August after all. As with July, August was a brilliant month for holidays, country adventures and reading, of course! I spent some time in Devon, London and back home in Dorset; all trips were full of laughter and randomness, from dogs winning village shows to trips to A&E, from days walking around the beautiful Devon countryside to days catching up with friends in London. It has been a lovely summer!

My reading this month has been varied and enjoyable. I have completed seven books this month, eight if I count Lewis Carroll’s books as two separate stories and they were originally published as two stories. This month I have read:

The Six Wives of Henry VIII by Antonia Fraser

A House in the Country by Jocelyn Playfair

Ordeal by Innocence by Agatha Christie

Peril at End House by Agatha Christie

Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass by Lewis Carroll

Peter Pan by J.M.Barrie

The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Challenges
The number and variety of books I have read this month has also helped me with my various challenges, so I am certainly feeling pleased about reading.

TBR Pile 2014
The Six Wives of Henry VIII counts towards this challenge and I’m pleased as this was the book I was most worried about completing. I have currently read nine books for this challenge, so only three more to go and I am pretty confident I will achieve this.

The Classics Club
The Hound of the Baskervilles brings my total up to 17/50. I think next year I need to add a fair few books from this list to my TBR Pile and keep taking part in The Classics Club Spins as I’m not doing very well on this particular challenge, especially as I think I am half way through my deadline!

Reading the Twentieth Century
A House in the Country, Ordeal by Innocence, Peril at End House, Peter Pan and The Hound of the Baskervilles all count towards this challenge. I have decided to use any book that fits this challenge as opposed to just using one book per author during the century. I am enjoying this challenge and I like how I have no specific deadline for it. I might set one as I am nearing the end of the challenge, especially to ensure I actually finish it, but I am happy with my progress so far.

I am under no illusion that I will read anywhere near as many books in September as school life always limits my reading to a certain extent. I have started a reading enrichment at school, which will allow me some extra reading time each week, but I still think seven books during term time would be a tall order. It has been a fantastic summer and I have enjoyed having so much time for reading, but I am definitely ready to go back to a life of structure.

2 thoughts on “August Round Up

Leave a Reply

