Australia Reading Month

IMG_1638.PNG

I spotted a post for Australia Reading Month a few weeks ago on Brona’s Books blog and I did debate joining at the time. I had told myself, and lots of friends and family, that I intended to visit Australia next year or at least before I was 30 and I bought myself a Lonely Planet guide book and everything to spur me into booking my trip. When I first saw this challenge, I did a little research into potential books to read and then it kind of fell by the wayside as work began to take up more of my time and energy. I confess I almost forgot about it, apart from the fact I saved the image above in my photo album on the iPad.

In the past few weeks a lot has changed; I turned 27; I found out my flatmate was moving for a job and I basically needed to find somewhere else to live (I have *fingers crossed* found the perfect flat) and I BOOKED MY FLIGHTS TO AUSTRALIA! So I am going to take part in this challenge to make me even more excited than I already am.

I have three books on my list and I will be happy if I manage to read at least one of them. The main aim is to read books that are either by Australian writers or predominately set in Australia. To help me with my planning for my trip, my friend bought me two books set in Australia and I am including these and one other on my list:

Down Under by Bill Bryson

The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton

Picnic at Hanging Rock by Joan Lindsay

Now I have decided to commit to this challenge I am very excited to start it and I know it will make me even more excited for my Australian adventure and help me with my planning.

9 thoughts on “Australia Reading Month

  1. What an exciting trip. I joined in Australia reading month last year, but had missed the fact it was happening again. I don’t think I will be joining in this year unless I get around to the Australian winner of this year’s Booker which I have on my kindle.

    1. I’d love to hear what you think about The Narrow Road Ali. Most people are loving and adoring and calling it a ‘masterpiece’ and an Aussie classic in the making.

      But myself (& a couple of others that I know of) have struggled with it….for the same reason.

      I hope you can fit it in for AusReading Month 🙂

  2. You’re coming to Australia!! Congrats on booking your trip.
    I recently saw Melissa from Avid Readers Musing in Sydney on her big trip – we caught up for drinks one night – it was a fabulous night.

    If you’re coming to Sydney too, I’d love to arrange a drinks catch up with you too. Feel free to private email me.

    I understand completely about hectic schedules. Our life has been the same lately & I’m a little concerned about my preparation for AusReading Month.

    Thanks for joining in. Picninc at Hanging Rock is an Aussie classic that I reviewed last year – with photos! (it would also be a great spooky read if you’re joining in any of the Halloween readalongs.)

    I loved Kate Morton’s early books, but I am shame-faced to admit that I have not read the Bill Bryson (even though it is on our bookshelf).

    Seeing this has reminded me that I need to get organised & pick my books today & write the masterpost for scheduling…as we’re now going away next weekend!!!!

    Lovely to have you aboard Lindy 🙂

    1. Thank you and thank you for the drinks offer, I am flying in to and out of Sydney so that would be perfect. Would also be great to get some advice on where to go and what to see as I’m travelling alone so any suggestions would be fab.

      I have read Kate Morton’s early work, so The Forgotten Garden is a reread but I am looking forward to the other two, just not sure how much I will get done in November. At least then I can keep the reading excitement/trip excitement going for a few extra months.

Leave a Reply

