A Storm of Swords 2: Blood and Gold

IMG_1684.JPG

I LOVE George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Fire and Ice series, as do millions of other people. Having watched the first two series – after I had read the books – I decided I wasn’t going to watch any more of the TV show until I had read all the books. As I have mentioned before the hardest thing about this little mission of mine is avoiding any spoilers when the new series is being aired and so far I have been pretty successful with this. Due to my desire to avoid spoilers this review won’t be very long and won’t contain any spoilers as I truly think people should discover this amazing and epic series for themselves.

A Storm of Swords 2 picks up where the last one ended and the problem I had with this is I couldn’t quite remember what had happened to each character at the end of the last book. All this has done is highlighted that I need to read the books closer together. The battle for Westeros is still raging, with several challengers to the throne, all of who, have their armies and their enemies. Across the ocean, Daenerys is quietly gathering her own army and raising her dragons, biding her time, waiting to strike for the Iron Throne. Whilst everyone is fighting for the right to rule they are neglecting the North and most importantly the growing dangers of what lies beyond The Wall.

I could wax lyrically for paragraph upon paragraph as to how much I love Martin’s writing and how engrossed I become in the books, but I do that every review and I think it might be getting a little boring now. This is a hefty book with over 500 pages but I sped through it in a couple of days. Yes, I had the advantage of being on half term, but I also credit a lot of it with the style of writing, the gripping narrative and the engaging characters you genuinely want to know more about.

For now I am going to make a start on my Australia reading for AusReadingMonth but I am determined to read the next book in the series before Christmas. If you haven’t read any of the books or watched any of the TV show Game of Thrones I strongly recommend that you do, although obviously I would urge you to start with the books.

One thought on “A Storm of Swords 2: Blood and Gold

Leave a Reply

