The Classics Club Spin #8

IMG_1289.JPG

Yay another Classics Club Spin. I have been doing pretty well with these this year and have completed the books I have had. I am determined to keep this up for the last spin of the year.

The rules are simple:

1. List 20 books from your Classics Club list
2. Post your list by Monday 10th November
3. On Monday a random number will be chosen and you need to read that book by January 5th

I am not going to sub divide my list into smaller categories, choosing instead to just number them at random and keep my fingers crossed. I have already started thinking about my reading plans for next year and have included some books from my Classics Club list in these plans so I don’t really want any crossovers.

1. The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje
2. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte
3. A Room with a View by E. M. Forester
4. Women in Love by D. H. Lawrence
5. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
6. Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
7. Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie
8. Emma by Jane Austen
9. The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins
10. Little Dorrit by Charles Dickens
11. Persuasion by Jane Austen
12. Lady Audley’s Secret by Mary Elizabeth Braddon
13. Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens
14. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
15. The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins
16. Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy
17. North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell
18. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
19. Jude the Obscure by Thomas Hardy
20. The Beautiful and the Damned by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Hopefully I haven’t repeated any books as I usually do that. I look forward to next Monday.

11 thoughts on “The Classics Club Spin #8

    1. Thank you. I have my fingers crossed for a Wilkie Collins, but I agree any of the ones you have mentioned would be fantastic on a cold winter’s night. I will have to read one of them regardless.

  1. You’ve got lots of my favourite classics on your list. I think I’d be hoping for one of the Dickens or Collins books as they’re perfect for this time of year. Good luck on Monday!

  2. I loved, loved, loved Midnight’s Children (& have it on my CC TBR list as a reread because I loved it so much!)

    I hope you get it 🙂

  3. Dickens!!! I love your list. I had 5 Dickens titles last time I participated so I thought I’d calm down a bit this round, but naturally you have good taste to place him on your list so many times. 😉

    Also like seeing Fitzgerald and Austen on your list… okay, it’s just a great list all around. Hope you end up with one you really want!

Leave a Reply

