Cheerio 2014

IMG_1765.JPG

2014 has officially finished. It is New Year’s Day, I am not hungover, I’m watching The Wizard of Oz and reflecting on the past year’s reading. As with most people it has been a year of ups and downs, including some times when I didn’t really want to read and didn’t do as much reading as I would have liked. However having said that I read more books than 2013, having read 43 in 2013 and 49 in 2014; I am aiming for over 50 for 2015. I was going to follow a similar post to the end of 2013 but instead I am following Jessica at The Bookworm Chronicles and listing my Top Ten Reads of the Year.

In no particular order:

1 and 2. A Storm of Swords: Part One and Part Two by George. R. R. Martin.
I am loving A Song of Fire and Ice series and am currently reading book four and was given the last two books as a Christmas present. I love Martin’s writing style and the narrative is epic and so engaging. I am determined to read the remaining books before I watch anymore of the TV programme.

3. A House in the Country by Jocelyn Playfair.
A Persephone Book written and set during the Second World War. It follows the lives of those living in a house in the country and how they are coping with the uncertainty of war.

4. The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie.
I love Agatha Christie and it was great to finally read the book that introduced millions of readers to the famous Belgian detective, Hercule Poirot.

5. The Six Wives of Henry VIII by Antonia Fraser.
This was an unexpected top read. Having languished on my shelf for many years I finally decided it was time to read it and I was surprised with how much I enjoyed this biography and how engaging and easy to understand it was.

6. World Without End by Ken Follett.
Having watched this when it was on TV and having read The Pillars of the Earth I was keen to read this epic novel and it didn’t disappoint. Set in Medieval England Follett cleverly depicts the lives of various people in the city of Kingsbridge, weaving the narrative around the various trails and tribulations they face.

7. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson
I bought and read this book as a teenager and hadn’t really read it since. The story of a teenage girl with a secret she cannot tell anyone, even when she is ostracised from her peers she keeps it inside.

8. The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring by J. R. R. Tolkien.
I tried to read this book when I was thirteen and just couldn’t get past the first one hundred pages. At twenty six I decided the time had come to try it again and I thoroughly enjoyed it. It certainly helped having seen the films several times so that I could picture various characters and settings, but as with all adaptations the book holds much more detail.

9. Bella by Jilly Cooper.
This was the only Jilly Cooper I read in 2014 and I have decided to make an effort to re-read more of her novels in 2015 and I love them and find her writing so comforting and it always hooks me in regardless of how many times I have read it before.

10. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling.
As with some of the other re-reads on my list it has been a while since I read any of the Harry Potter series and I forgot how much I enjoy them. I definitely need to continue with this series in the new year.

I had a lovely 2014 and I am sure I will continue to read lots of lovely new reads and old favourites in 2015. Happy New Year!

10 thoughts on “Cheerio 2014

  1. Great list. I started World without End when it came out and didn’t like it much so I put it aside. I’m going through a Ken Follett phase now and I’m reading all or at least his highest rated works, so I’ll eventually read it. I loved The Pillars of the Earth and read it about three times in the 90s. I’ll probably read it again to review it.
    A Song of Fire and Ice series is on my TBR list, which I’ll hopefully start this year because I’m planning to read many series/trilogies I have on my list. Let’s see how it goes.
    I too compiled a list of the “best books I read on 2014”, which you can access at:
    http://www.cpa-booksandmoviesreviews.com/2014/12/best-books-i-read-in-2014.html .

    1. Thank you. I have a few other Ken Follett books on my shelf I should probably aim to read soon. A Song of Fire and Ice is a fantastic series so hopefully you will get to it soon.

  2. I re-read the first two Harry Potter books this week, I was worried I might be past them and they wouldn’t be the same, but they were just as amazing as I remembered the first time around. It’s been so long since I read them that it’s almost as magical as before. I’m having to ensure I don’t reread them all too quickly, I want to enjoy the process.

    Now I’ve watched all of LotR and Hobbit, I’m tempted to try the books again, see if I enjoy them the second attempt.

  3. A great list of books Lindy. I am so pleased to see you enjoyed your reading in 2014 and to see so many re-reads on your list too. I also had A Storm of Swords book 1 and 2 on my list. I wish you more happy reading in 2015 🙂

  4. The Six Wives of Henry VIII has also been on my TBR shelf for ages (as well as Fraser’s biography of Mary, Queen of Scots). With this post you’ve bumped it up the list of priorities 🙂

Leave a Reply

