End of February

2015/03/img_1828.jpg

Books read: 4
Challenges: Four (TBR Pile 2015, Reading England, The Classics Club and Reading the Twentieth Century)

I quite like February for many reasons. It marks the halfway point in the school year, the seasons are beginning to change and it marks my annual visit to London and the theatre with my mummy. This February was no different and mum and I ventured up for a night in London and to see a show of her choice. It was between The 39 Steps and War Horse; I was inclined towards the former, however as it was mum’s Christmas present I kept my mouth shut and we went to see War Horse. I read the books years ago and I wasn’t overly fussed about going to see the stage production,however within the opening ten minutes my mind was completely changed. It was a fantastic show and the puppets were simply amazing. Luckily I brought tissues with me, but it is certainly a show I would recommend as it is cleverly staged and just amazing.

2015/03/img_1829-0.png

No trip to London is complete without a visit to Persephone Books and I added three more to my bookcase (The Blank Wall, The Persephone Book of Short Stories and Because of the Lockwoods). I had only intended to buy one but my mum persuaded me and by that I mean she said ‘Are you getting three for £30?’ I love the Persephone Shop as it is so quaint and the books are beautifully displayed; if you haven’t been I certainly recommend it. We did lots of shopping and we also went to the London Aquarium, which was good, but not quite as good as I expected. Although we did see this guy…

2015/03/img_1830-0.png

On to the reading:
The Camomile Lawn by Mary Wesley
A Different Class of Murder by Laura Thompson
The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
The Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux

Challenges:
I read a book for all four of my challenges this month, which I didn’t realise until just then.
The Camomile Lawn, The Great Gatsby and The Phantom of the Opera all count towards Reading the Twentieth Century.
The Camomile Lawn ticks Cornwall off the Reading England list.
The Great Gatsby is another book from my Classics Club challenge.
Finally The Phantom of the Opera is book three from my TBR Pile 2015 so I am making good progress with this challenge for the year.

Favourite Read:
This is an easy one for me and The Camomile Lawn was definitely my favourite read of the month. It was recommended by a friend and I am so glad I took the time to get it transferred to my local library so I could enjoy it and I am sure I will be reading more from Mary Wesley before the year is out.

3 thoughts on “End of February

  1. A wonderful production – the puppeteers’ sweat-soaked clothing are evidence of just what energy they put into the performance! War Horse stays with you for a very long time – and amazing ‘take’ on WW!

  2. A wonderful production – the puppeteers’ sweat-soaked clothing are evidence of just what energy they put into the performance! War Horse stays with you for a very long time – an amazing ‘take’ on WW!

Leave a Reply

