Classics Club Spin #9

2015/03/img_1289.jpg

I had only just been thinking that it had been a while since the last Classics Club Spin, when along came Number 9. And then I debated whether or not to joining in this time as it is coming up to a busy time at work with the exam period looming and I have to move flats. However I like the unpredictable nature of the spin and I do need to read more books from my list as before I know it my pretend deadline will be here. So I a, changing the rules slightly for me and giving myself until the end of May -not May 15th – and I will see how it goes. The lucky number will be announced next Monday, so fingers crossed.

My list is below and doesn’t follow any kind of structure.

1. The Beautiful and the Damned – F.Scott Fitzgerald

2. North and South – Elizabeth Gaskell

3. Lady Audley’s Secret – Mary Elizabeth Braddon

4. East Lynne – Ellen Wood

5. Far From the Madding Crowd – Thomas Hardy

6. Emma – Jane Austen

7. Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie

8. Women in Love – D.H. Lawrence

9. A Room with a View – E.M. Forster

10. The Moonstone – Wilkie Collins

11. The Thirty-Nine Steps – John Buchan

12. Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte

13. Jude the Obscure – Thomas Hardy

14. The English Patient – Michael Odaantje (not spelt right I know)

15. Persuasion – Jane Austen

16. Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers – J.R.R. Tolkien

17. The Forsyte Saga – John Galsworthy

18. The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins

19. Gulliver’s Travels – Jonathan Swift

20. Northanger Abbey – Jane Austen

7 thoughts on “Classics Club Spin #9

  1. I’m not sure if I’ll be taking part in this spin as it’s a busy time for me too. I’ll make a decision later in the week. There are a lot of books on your list that I’ve read and loved – I hope you get a number you’re happy with!

  2. Ooo, there are a few of us who have the Moonstone on our lists. Gulliver’s Travels is a wonderful read, especially if you do a little background research to understand the satire. Swift had good insight into human nature and a curiously intense reaction to it. Best of luck with your spin!

Leave a Reply

