March Round Up

2015/04/img_1863.jpg

March is finished and as always after Christmas the school year is flying by. March has been a crazy busy month in terms of work, with an observation and then the dreaded O coming in to school so I feel as though my reading took a backseat for most of the month. I also had a bit of a shock flat wise as my landlord is selling it, so I have to find somewhere else to live, which as I type seems a tad surreal even though I know I am moving. I have decided to go home for a few months as I will save myself some money before Australia. I’m not overly bothered but the thought of moving all of my books again and then again a few months later has given me a push to be incredibly ruthless and start sending some to the charity shop. So far 28 books have been culled from the collection which for a normal person would be most of their collection gone, but for me this has barely made a dent, so maybe it’s time to look again.

We are know a quarter of the way through the year and I’m happy with my reading so far. I have a mini challenge set on Good Reads to read 50 books this year and I have currently read 16 which puts me ahead of target if I keep reading at this pace. March reading consisted of:

A Dance with Dragons Part One by George. R. R. Martin
Withering Tights by Louise Rennison
The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte (review yet to be published)

I’m pleased with my reading as two of the books are pretty bulky. The Tenant of Wildfell Hall surprised me as I really enjoyed it and found it relatively easy to read, but my favourite read of the month was A Dance with Dragons and the return to the world of Game of Thrones.

Challenges
I have currently read four books from my TBR Pile 2015 ticking Withering Tights off the list this month.
I have also added two more titles to my Reading England 2015 challenge with Withering Tights set in Yorkshire and The Tenant of Wildfell Hall set in Cumbria.
The Tenant of Wildfell Hall counts towards my Classics Club List as well, so although I haven’t read any books written in the twentieth century this month I have had a good month for challenges on the whole.

I’m not sure where April will take my reading if I’m honest. I’m have entered the Classics Club Spin #9 but that might happen in May, depends on my book and my mood. Hopefully I’ll be able to get a lot of reading done with what is left of my Easter holidays.

3 thoughts on “March Round Up

  1. March seems to have flown by for me too! In my school we’ve had a couple of observations and expect O after the break. I am looking forward to reading both A Dance with Dragons and The Tenant of Wildfel Hall. I hope your move/s go well and happy reading in April šŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, it is more the hassle of packing and hiding an ‘illegal’ rabbit that is annoying me about moving. Good luck if you get O next term, brace yourself for little sleep and no time to read, but I am so glad they have final been; I have been at the school for two and a half years and the whole time they have been expecting a visit.

  2. I feel as if March has barely happened, and I think it’s because it’s always the first month of the new year I really enjoy.

    I’m looking forward to your review of The Tenant of Wildfell Hall!

Leave a Reply

