This June I Have…

  
As with all June posts, I can’t believe we are half way through the year;  as always it has flown by and I can’t believe I have nearly finished another teaching year.  With every month of the year, June has been very busy and this month I have been…

…reading

I finished two books this month, The Kingmaker’s Daughter is another book ticked off of my TBR Pile and my Reading England list and Jilly Cooper’s Wicked is a book I have read many times before but I love a reread especially if it is a Jilly Cooper book.

…been to Centre Parcs

  
My Grandad turned 80 in June and as a surprise my Grandma booked for eighteen members of my family to surprise him at Centre Parcs, a place we have been visiting as a family for over twenty years.  We always go to the Longleat Centre Parcs, even though we only live down the road and I love it there.  There is so much to do, whether you are booking activities that you have to pay extra for or enjoying some of the free activities, such as swimming or just enjoying the beautiful setting.  Perhaps my favourite part of the weekend was spending time with my sister, her boyfriend and my boyfriend; it was great to just chill with them and hang out as a foursome.  I took my selfie stick along and got the above shot of me with Grandad and my brother photobombing.

…listening to Paolo Nutini

  

I began listening to Paolo Nutini’s Caustic Love album on YouTube after I heard Iron Sky on the radio, but at the weekend I decided to buy the album so I could listen to it on my crazy long drive to school.  I don’t drive every day as sometimes I stay at my boyfriend’s, but it certainly made the drive much more enjoyable yesterday morning. I certainly recommend the album and he has a beautiful voice. 

…fallen in love with Liz Earle products

 
I discovered Liz Earle through my BirchBox and as I had built up enough points I decided to treat myself to a full sized bottle of the Hot Cloth Cleanser and some moisturiser.  I love the cleanser; it smells amazing and leaves my skin beautifully soft and is lovely.  I like the moisturiser too and I put it on before I go to bed, but it doesn’t smell anywhere near as nice as the cleanser. 

…visited another Thomas Hardy property

After May’s successful visit to Max Gate Mum and I decided to spend a rainy Sunday morning at Thomas Hardy’s Cottage, another property just down the road from us in Dorset.  The cottage is where Hardy lived until he was 34 and it is not exactly the biggest of places, but it is in a beautiful location and although there wasn’t a tearoom so on the property there was one just a short walk away.  No visit to an author house would be complete without at least one book buy and this time I bought Claire Tomalin’s biography of Hardy; having read her biography of Jane Austen, I was keen to experience more of her writing.  And there was an adorable little cat just snoozing upstairs on one of the beds too, so that made me even more excited. 

Another lovely month and these posts are really helping me to appreciate how lucky I am and how many wonderful things I experience each month, proving that it isn’t just work, work, work! On to July, which I know is going to be an eventful month! 


One thought on “This June I Have…

  1. It really does sound like you had a wonderful month. I used to go with my family to the Centre Parcs in The Lake District. Like you I also can’t believe I’ve almost been in my new school a year…well its not really new anymore! Happy reading in July 🙂

Leave a Reply

