Gone Girl

  
Title: Gone Girl

Author: Gillian Flynn

Published: 2012

Synopsis

Nick and Amy have been married for five years and it hasn’t always been easy.  From a glamorous life in New York they have had a fall from grace; after losing their jobs as writers, they have had to move back to Missouri and care for Nick’s dying parents. With no job prospects, they invest the last of Amy’s money – her parents wrote a collection of successful children’s books based on her – in a bar that Nick runs with his sister.  And that’s about as exciting as life gets…until Amy disappears on the morning of their fifth wedding anniversary.  

There are signs of a struggle, cleared up blood and an interesting anniversary present ready to send Nick on his annual treasure hunt reliving some of the personal highlights of the year.  It is a high profile case, especially as Amy is blonde, beautiful and kind of famous.  In typical fashion it doesn’t take the police long to turn their suspicion towards Nick and the public follow suit. But is it as simple as man kills wife?

My Thoughts

The novel is told through a joint narrative of Nick and a diary written by Amy.  They both have a very different take on events, so it can be tough for a reader to decide who to believe.  It is clear that neither party is particularly happily in love.  I like this style of narrative as I like the cliffhangers on the end of each chapter that keep me wanting to read more.  I can’t say I warmed to either character, but if I had to pick I would choose Nick; Amy was just too irritating. 

I’m trying to write this review without any spoilers, so I will tell you that I loved it and was gripped all the way through. I wanted to find out more and I loved that little bits of information and secrets about the characters were slowly being revealed throughout.  

And then I got to the end! 

To say I was disappointed is an understatement. I didn’t like the ending one bit.  It happened far too abruptly and in my eyes didn’t seem true to the characters or how they should react. For me it gave a bit of a ‘you can act in this way and still get what you want’ kind of vibe and I hate that and I just didn’t understand why the characters would do what they did.  It’s a shame as I loved the book up until then and I don’t usually write negative reviews, but I wasn’t impressed. 

One thought on “Gone Girl

  1. I haven’t read this but I have seen the recent film adaptation, starring Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike. Great performances and really gripping thriller, but it’s pretty shocking and the ending was a bit of a ‘WTF?’ moment. Great watch however I couldn’t put myself through it again and I doubt I’d read the book now.

Leave a Reply

