The Classics Club Spin #11

  
I haven’t taken part in a Classics Club Spin for a few spins but as we are coming up to the holiday season and I will hopefully have a bit more time on my hands I’m feeling optimistic about this spin (famous last words).  The rules are simple, pick 20 books from your list, number them and on Monday 7th December a random number will be picked and then that is the book you need to read by the 1st February…argh 2016! 

I was hoping to group my books, but with 25 left to read I just decided to remove 5 that I don’t really fancy.  I then discovered the shocking fact that there are only 6 books by women left on my list.  I would like to think this is because I have read a lot of the books by female authors and I have to certain extent, but I think if I looked closely my list would be quite male dominated.  If I were to write my list today I imagine it would like very different.  Anyway, below is my lovely list with female authors plonked in every so often: 

1. Great Expectations – Charles Dickens 

2.The Beautiful and the Damned – F.Scott Fitzgerald

3. A Room with a View – E.M. Forster

4. Persuasion – Jane Austen 

5. The Forsyte Saga – John Galsworthy

6. Jude the Obscure – Thomas Hardy

7. Far From the Madding Crowd – Thomas Hardy 

8. Northanger Abbey – Jane Austen 

9. Women in Love – D.H. Lawrence

10. The English Patient – Michael Ondaatje

11. Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie

12. Emma – Jane Austen 

13. Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers – J.R.R. Tolkien

14. The Jungle Book – R. Kipling

15. The Warden – Anthony Trollope

16. Lady Audley’s Secret – Mary Elizabeth Braddon

17. A Farewell to Arms – Ernst Hemmingway

18. The Moonstone – Wilkie Collins 

19. The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins 

20. Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte 

Good luck to everyone taking part! 

6 thoughts on “The Classics Club Spin #11

  1. Isn’t it funny how little we noticed the prevalence of male authors when we made our lists? I think my first list was mostly men, with a token Austen, Bronte, and Woolf thrown in. 🙂

    Best wishes with the spin! I hope you get 4 or 20.

Leave a Reply

